Gustav Mahler – The Symphonies

Text-critical – practice-oriented – whole material for sale

Mahler’s Symphonien in the score and orchestra library

„… my time will come!“

Around 130 years ago, Gustav Mahler started his career in Leipzig as one of the most important conductors of his time and as one of the greatest symphonists ever. At the same time, Breitkopf & Härtel began to build up its score and orchestra library. Despite Mahler’s efforts to have his works published by Breitkopf & Härtel, a cooperation did not come into being then. All the more reason why we are pleased to announce one of our most ambitious projects in the year of our 300th anniversary: the publication of all Gustav Mahler’s symphonies.

The advantages at a glance

  • All of Mahler’s symphonies from a sole publisher
  • Created according to uniform formal and content-related criteria
  • Generous format (score/parts 27 x 36 cm) and rastral size of the parts (7,5 mm)
  • Modern engraving image guarantees for better readability and clarity
  • Sufficient space for entries in the parts
  • Optimal practicality of the parts (page-turns, orientation, space between systems for entries by musicians
  • Errors and inconsistencies of the Critical Complete Edition have been corrected
  • Divergences from the sources and differences to the Complete Critical Edition are documented in the critical commentary.
  • Details on performance practical particularities

Here you can browse through a reading sample, on request we will gladly send you the reading sample.